News and Events
Poem of the Month
Photo Gallery
Poetry Archives
A Poets Manual

BAFFLE - News and Events

LOTTO Win for Baffle Poet

Poet who scooped €12 million in Saturday night's draw has yet to decide how it will be spent...


This was the theme for a reading on 8th April which was based on the above headline in The Irish Times.

Was this really a heading in the Irish Times though? Maybe not, but the 13 poets who wrote on this theme thought so. Maggie May’s in Loughrea was the venue for this fun night, which saw the large audience, entertained to some serious, but mostly hilarious, poetry and rhyme.

Judging was by ‘secret’ ballot and a narrow victory was claimed by Ian McDonald with his poem ‘No Change Here’, which was jointly delivered by himself and his wife Siún.

The runner up was Mary Ida Kelly followed by Eamonn McNally in 3rd place.

The following poets participated: Eamonn McNally, Pat Lawless, Barbara Glynn, Vicky McNally, Joe Kennedy, Ian McDonald, Mary Ida Kelly, Brid Sibley, Ray Gately, Phelim Leahy, Siún McDonald, Tom Glendon and Joe Conmey.


Contact BAFFLE Poetry Group Contact Us
BAFFLE Poetry Group membership Membership Form
BAFFLE Homepage